#592: Am I sabotaging my academic career by dating a guy with no degree; or, how is Academia like Reality TV?

Though she was answering an unrelated questions, the Captain’s answer really sums up why I’m going to start my PhD in Australia, instead of trying to go overseas for the Prestige and Academic Reasons.

Captain Awkward

The Bachelor group shot “One of you lucky ladies is going to get tenure!”

Hi Captain (& friends),

I have been dating an awesome guy for a little over a year now. It’s not really my style to gush over a romantic partner, but this is possibly the happiest and most comfortable I’ve ever been with someone. However, we have one big difference: I’m a graduate student getting my PhD in a science field, and he never completed his bachelor’s and is currently working in the service industry. He’s taking online classes and collaborating on a startup, but doesn’t plan to finish his degree.

This doesn’t bother me, or adversely affect the relationship. He is extremely intelligent and genuinely interested in my research work, and I like hearing wild stories from the club he works at. He challenges my ideas and experiments in ways that are interesting and helpful, since they’re not coming from…

View original post 3,134 more words

Leave a Reply

